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Certificate of Smoke Detector, Carbon Monoxide Alarm 

and Fire Extinguisher Compliance 

Inspections are required for the sale, rental or change of occupancy of a 1- or 2-family 
dwelling unit or apartment. The inspection will check for the proper placement and operation 
of smoke detectors and carbon monoxide alarms as well as the required fire extinguisher. 
The inspection is required by the New Jersey Uniform Fire Code. 
Fees 
  Application   RECEIVED more than 10 business days before closing date = $50.00 
                      Reinspection Fee = $25.00 
 
 Application  RECEIVED four to ten business days before closing date = $70.00 
                        Reinspection Fee = $50.00 
 
 Application RECEIVED fewer than four business days before closing date = $125.00 
                Reinspection Fee = $100.00 

Appointments are scheduled based upon availability: 

Payment of the Fee is required prior to scheduling an appointment.  To schedule an 

appointment stop by the Administration & Vital Records Office at the Township 

Municipal building.  

 Please be sure to schedule your appointment for an inspection as soon as you are 
able because slots fill up quickly. 

 Inspector is only required to wait for 10 minutes after appointment time. Then will 
leave and you will be required to schedule another appointment. 

 

Certificate valid for 6 months from date of issue. 

 
Equipment Requirements 

Smoke Detectors 
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code requires a minimum of one smoke detector on each 
level of your home, including the basement. A smoke detector must be located in the 
hallway outside any bedroom. Homes with long hallways may require more than one smoke 
detector for proper coverage. Rule of thumb is to have a smoke detector within 10 feet of 
any bedroom. 
If your home was built prior to 1977, you may use battery powered smoke detectors to meet 
the requirements. 
If your home was constructed in 1977 or later, or if a substantial addition was made to your 
home, electric smoke detectors would have been required under the New Jersey Uniform 
Construction Code. Depending on when the home was built, you may have electric smoke 
detectors in each bedroom as well. All electrical smoke detectors that came with your home 
must be in working order and may not be replaced with battery type units. In most cases, 
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the electrical smoke detectors are interconnected so that if one detector activates, all 
detectors in the home will activate. This feature must also be working. Failure to have the 
proper detectors in place will result in a failed inspection. 
 

SMOKE DETECTOR PLACEMENT LAW 

 
BASEMENT: One at the bottom of the stairs to the first floor 

One within 10’ of a bedroom (if any) 
FIRST FLOOR: One at the bottom of the stairs to the second floor 

One within 10’ of a bedroom (if any) 
SECOND FLOOR: One at the top of the stairs from the first floor 

One within 10’ of a bedroom (if any) 
THIRD FLOOR: One at the of the stairs from the second floor 

One within 10’ of a bedroom (if any) 
ATTIC / CRAWL SPACE: No detector needed if the attic is not finished 

No detector needed in a crawl space 
 

Please note that any smoke detection device that is in place at the time of inspection 
must be operational. In other words, either it needs to work or it needs to be replaced 
but when you replace it you need to be cognizant of the fact that a like type device 
needs to be installed 

Low Voltage Central Alarm Systems 

Many homeowners have installed either at the time of construction or at a later point, 
a low voltage hardwired or wireless fire detection system, which is acceptable under 
the Code.   
Household fire alarm systems require 2 inspections. 
1. NJ Chapter law 27D Title 52 requires that the central alarm system be certified 
operational by a licensed Fire Protection Contractor. See last page for sample test 
report. 
2. An inspection to insure proper placement of detectors and sounders (Horns/bells) 
by the local municipality.  

 
Someone who knows how to operate the system must be present as it will be set off 
to verify Decibel levels and must be reset. Contact your alarm service company for 
more information. 
 
Also the Low Voltage Central system must meet the following conditions.  

1. Where a household fire alarm system is installed, it shall become a permanent fixture 

of the occupancy, owned by the homeowner; 

2.  The system shall be monitored by an approved supervising station and shall be 
maintained in accordance with NFPA 72; 

3.  A monitoring contract from the supervising company; 
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4.   A testing and service company contract which provides maintenance, inspection, 
and testing per NFPA 72 for Household Fire Alarm Systems; and 

5.  Smoke detectors shall be installed in the locations specified in the uniform building 
code in affect at the time the Certificate of Occupancy was issued. 

6.  At least one (1) audible notification device (Horn/Bell) must be on each level of the 
structure and the sounder must be loud enough to be heard in each bedroom with 
the door closed (a min. of 70 decibels in the room). 

 
If any of the 6 conditions listed above are not adhered to, it would be considered a 
violation of the fire code and would be required to be corrected prior to a certificate of 
compliance being issued 
 

Note: Combination smoke and carbon monoxide detectors shall be permitted to be installed 
in fire alarm systems in lieu of smoke detectors, provided that they are listed in accordance 
with UL 268 and UL 2075 
 

NOTE: Dwellings with existing fire detection and carbon monoxide systems 

installed through the building department (new construction/renovation and a 

certificate of occupancy was issued) must be maintained to the same level of the 

certificate of occupancy upon resale/lease.  Any portion of an existing system not 

serviceable or repairable shall be replaced.  *Battery operated smoke detectors 

are not acceptable replacements.  
*Appointments are scheduled every 30 minutes – If the owner or agent is more 
than 10 minutes late the appointment must be rescheduled and is subject to a 
higher permit fee! 

Carbon Monoxide CO) Alarms 
The New Jersey Uniform Fire Code requires that a carbon monoxide alarm be installed in 
the area outside any bedrooms. If the hallways are long, more than one carbon monoxide 
alarm may be required. The alarm may be battery powered or plug in electric. It must be 
installed outside the bedrooms. If there are bedrooms on different levels, a carbon 
monoxide alarm must be installed at each level. Central station/low voltage carbon 
monoxide alarms are acceptable but must meet these requirements. They must be 
permanently mounted in the location specified by the manufacturers. Carbon monoxide 
alarms are not required if there are no fuel burning (natural gas, LP gas, fuel oil, wood coal) 
appliances (stove, boiler, furnace, wood stove, fire place) or the residence does not have an 
attached garage. 
 
 

 
Certificate valid for 6 months from date of issue. 

 

Continued next page 
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Fire Extinguishers 
The code requires a fire extinguisher be installed in the kitchen area or within 10 feet 

of the kitchen on the way to an exterior exit. It must be in a visible location, not in a 

closet or behind a door. The extinguisher must be permanently installed using the 

manufacturers supplied brackets. The fire extinguisher must be rated for residential 

use, consisting of an A:B:C type; Rated a minimum of 2A-10BC, be no larger than a 

10 pound fire extinguisher, and have a date on the label that is within one year of this 

inspection. An older extinguisher meeting the rating requirements which has an up to 

date service tag from an approved fire extinguisher service company certifying it is in 

working condition is acceptable. New extinguishers are not required to be 

serviced or tagged, as long as the seller or agent can provide proof of 

purchase or receipt. 
 
 

              

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                              

Example of a Service Tag        1-A:10-BC            2-A:10-BC - ABC Dry Chemical 

      NOT Acceptable       ACCEPTABLE 

 

Certificate valid for 6 months from date of issue. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continued next page 
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EXAMPLES OF SMOKE DETECTOR & CO ALARM LOCATIONS 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Continued next page 
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RESIDENTIAL LOW VOLTAGE CENTRAL ALARM SYSTEM TEST REPORT 

 

PROPERTY OWNER’S INFORMATION: 

NAME: 

 

STREET ADDRESS: 

CITY: 

 

STATE ZIP CODE: PHONE: 

 

ITEM / COMPOMENT YES / NO NUMBER UNITS 

TESTED 

N/A 

1. Fire Alarm Panel Tested and found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

2. All Smoke Detectors Tested & found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

3. All Heat Detectors Tested & found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

4. All Carbon Monoxide Detectors Tested & 

found to be functional / Operational 

   

5. All Visual Alarms Tested & found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

6. All Manual Pull Stations Tested & found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

7. All sounding devices - Bells or Horns Tested & 

found to be functional / Operational and located  

on each level of the structure. 

   

8. Supervisory Device Circuits Tested & found to 

be functional / Operational. 

   

9. Primary Power Circuit &Battery backup power 

Tested & found to be functional / Operational. 

   

10. Lamp(s) and LED(s) Tested & found to be 

functional / Operational. 

   

 

CERTIFICATION OF SYSTEM OPERATION 
 

FIRE PROTECTION CONTRACTOR OR  

SERVICING COMPANY: ____________________________________________________________ 
 

 ADDRESS: ____________________________________________ 

 

           CITY, STATE, ZIP CODE: ____________________________________________ 

 
THE ABOVE REFERENCED COMPANY/REPRESENTATIVE HEREBY ACKNOWLEDGES THAT THEIR 

REPRESENTATIVES FOUND THE ABOVE TESTS AND/OR CONDITIONS UPON INSPECTION.  AS A RESULT OF 

THE TESTS CONDUCTED, ALL SYSTEMS WERE FOUND TO BE OPERATING PROPERLY AND MEET 

COMPLIANCE WITH THE NEW JERSEY UNIFORM FIRE CODE. 

 
PRINTED NAME: ____________________________   LICENSE #: ____________________ 

 

 

SIGNED: ____________________________________  DATE: ______________________ 
 

 


